

MEDIA STATEMENT

MINERALS COUNCIL SOUTH AFRICA NEW OFFICE BEARERS ELECTED First woman President in 131 years

Johannesburg, 26 May 2021. The Minerals Council Board members elected its new Office Bearers for 2021/2022 at today's 131st annual general meeting (AGM).

Nolitha Fakude, formerly a Vice President of the Minerals Council and Anglo American South Africa's Management Board Chair, has been elected as President. This is the first time in the 131-year history of the organisation that the Minerals Council has had a woman President. Ms Fakude was formerly a Vice President, and is also the Chair of the Minerals Council Women in Mining Leadership Forum.

The new Vice Presidents are Paul Dunne, CEO of Northam Platinum; Themba Mkhwanazi, CEO of Kumba Iron Ore; and Peter Steenkamp, CEO of Harmony.

Roger Baxter, CEO of the Minerals Council said: "On behalf of the Minerals Council and its members, we welcome Nolitha Fakude in her new role as President of the Minerals Council Board, and our new Office Bearers, who are long-serving board members, Paul Dunne, Themba Mkhwanazi and Peter Steenkamp. It is a watershed occasion to have our first woman President and is testament to Nolitha's fortitude and leadership capability. I am certain that she will leave an indelible mark on the industry and a material leadership contribution in the years ahead."

"The Minerals Council Office Bearers members perform a critical role in leading and representing the South African mining industry on behalf of the Board and its members, and play a crucial role in strategically guiding the senior management team of the Minerals Council. One thing that has been such a great asset to the industry is the very high calibre of leadership of women and men from our Board that are willing to step forward and play key leadership roles as Office Bearers in the Minerals Council. These leaders have a profound impact on the future direction of the mining industry and the country. I look forward to

working with Nolitha and the Office Bearer team in the year ahead as we continue to **#MakingMiningMatter**.

"Our sincere gratitude goes to the outgoing President Mxolisi Mgojo, and Office Bearers, Steve Phiri, Neal Froneman and Zanele Matlala for their wise counsel and exemplary leadership, and for the significant progress made over the last few years to cement the brand of the Minerals Council as a force for positive change. They have also played a key role in guiding the Minerals Council efforts to engage government and other key stakeholders to manage the COVID-19 pandemic, and with Minister Mantashe and the DMRE team to plan to revive mining in the new normal. It has been an incredible privilege to work closely with these leaders and I know they will continue to share their leadership wisdom in the period ahead."

For further information, please contact:

Charmane Russell

Tel: +27 82 372 5816

Email: crussell@mineralscouncil.org.za or charmane@rasc.co.za

Web: www.mineralscouncil.org.za